Our website uses cookies throughout our system and to help us provide a better service. Continue to use the site as normal if you're happy with this, or click here to change your settings

Sidcup RFC v Penguins International RFC
Saturday 22nd March 2008, KO 3pm

To celebrate Sidcup’s 125th Anniversary at Sidcup Sports Ground, Sidcup

A rousing game played in high wind, with Penguins dominating the first half to lead 24 - 0 at half-time. In the second half, Sidcup playing with the wind, got into the match and in an even exchange, each team scored a further 24 points, so that Penguins ran out winners, at 48 – 24.

Sidcup Penguins
Richard PilgrimFullbackFrankie Neal (Blackheath)
Steve AmuraWing Euan Sadden (OURFC)
Phil EvansCentreChris Lewis (CURFC)
Callum ThomsonCentreTom Gregory (OURFC)
Jon HarrisWingRanako Daley (Blackheath)
Jim HardyFlyhalfRoss Swanson (OURFC)
John McDonaghScrum HalfToby Henry (OURFC)
Jon WestNo 8Marcel Du Toit (Barnes)
Mike ElliottFlankerJoe Wheeler (CURFC)
Dom WaltonFlankerPeter Clarke (OURFC) - Captain
Danny MizenLockTom Bason (Blackheath)
Liam RankinLockRobert Anderson (Imperial Medics)
Jim RoquesProp Jon Dawson (CURFC)
Iain WilsonHookerMatt Cross (Loughborough U)
Tom PagePropKevin Davies (OURFC)
Spencer Bennett16Rupert Try (OURFC)
Stuart Anderson17 Rick Lutton (OURFC)
Mark Whitford18Adrian Griffiths (Bath)
Paul Edwards19Andy McGill (Orkney)
Richard Evans20Ben Ibrahim (Blackheath)
21S. Wardingly (Blackheath)
22James Wellwood (CURFC)
Phil Ubee and Andy HindCoachesSteve Hill
Paul Graham PhysioPete Stevenson and Emily Lintern


Dr Tim Miller (LSRFUR)

Touch Judges

Nick Hickman and Tony Coleman


Jake Walsh and Ben Stock (both – Sidcup Under 10s)

Tries - Rankin, McDonaugh, Anderson, Clarke
Conversions - Handy 2 Pete Stevenson and Emily Lintern

Tries - Neal 3, Swanson 2, Sadden, Wheeler, Griffiths
Conversions - Swanson 2, Neal 2

Men of the Match (Sponsored by Sidcup Cricket Club)
Backs: John Mc Donough and Ross Swanson
Forwards: Jon West and Marcel Du Toit

Our Hosts – Sidcup RFC led by - President Phil West and Chairman Ian Anderson

Penguins IRFC – President and Co-Founder, Alan Wright, Chairman Tom Wacker, Treasurer Robin Hutton, Secretary Mike Cordell, Derek Harris, Hugh Thomas, Dudley Ankerson, Greg Wright, VJ and Robin De Morgan

The Guest of Honour – Mrs Doris Mason, widow of Penguins’ Founder, the late Tony Mason and herself a frequent tourist with the Penguins.

Lunch – Just right to face the cold outdoors to come - Ministrone soup, beef, vegetables and cheese with red and white vin extraordinaire

By Sidcup RFC – Quacentenial ties and lapel badges to all Penguins

By Penguins – ties to all Sidcup players and special players ties for the 4 Sidcup players who had played in the Centenary match and Penguin plaques for Sidcup and their President.

Opening Match - Sidcup under 18s v Chislehurst & Sidcup Grammar School XV

The Links

The Penguins were co-founded by Alan Wright and Tony Mason, in 1959, when they had both been playing for Sidcup for some years. Alan confirmed that the RFU had given the impulse, by forbidding a tour planned for Sidcup to Eastern Germany and so the Penguins were formed and toured instead.

Penguins provided the opposition for Sidcup’s Centenary Match, in which President Phil West played, with 3 other Sidcup players, who were present at the 125th match. The Centenary Match Programme had been re-printed and shows Penguins captained by Simon Halliday with a back division including also Marcus Rose, Tony Swift, Nick Preston, Stuart Barnes and Derek Wyatt MP. Penguins won 42 - 22.

Steve Hill, today’s Penguins’ Coach played for Sidcup as a Colt and in the senior side in the nineties and Derek Harris was also a Sidcup contemporary of President Alan.

The Match Ball Sponsor, Charles Prewer, is a Penguin, who toured to California in 1970.

What a great day, in a superbly-appointed club house, generous space for rugby and cricket pitches, an open game in the best tradition and spirit and Sidcup’s generous hospitality – in every way a day to remember. We look forward to the 150th!

Jack Speak
Community Group
Jack Speak
Community Group