Our website uses cookies throughout our system and to help us provide a better service. Continue to use the site as normal if you're happy with this, or click here to change your settings

Oxford University Match
Wednesday 29th February 2012

The 26th annual meeting of the teams saw the Penguins secure a hard fought 36-22 win against Oxford University at Iffley Road in front of a crowd of 200 spectators to become the inaugural winners of the Alan Wright Cup.

In perfect playing conditions the Penguins hit their stride quickly and after ten phases of play full-back Peter Clarke scored the first try. The Penguins, coached by Oxford’s former director of rugby, Steve Hill, increased their lead eight minutes later following a series of offloads between the forwards, when centre Paddy Smith was released to cross the line with Luke Cousins adding the conversion.

The University came back strongly but struggled to break through a resilient Penguins defence. The Penguins back-row were proving to be a real handful and mid-way through the first half their third try of the evening was scored by openside flanker Julian Poff.

A loose pass by the Penguins backs allowed Oxford to pressure the opposition try line which eventually resulted in a try when full back Matt Janney twisted over the line. This score re-invigorated the University who came close to adding another until the Penguins centre Martin Nutt intercepted on his own 22 metre line and ran through to score under the posts, giving the Penguins a 24-5 half time lead.

Both sides started the second half at pace and with the Penguins trying to run out of their own 22 metre area Oxford turned the ball over which lead to a try by prop Lewis Anderson. Within three minutes Oxford scored again when number 8, Louis Mather crashed over and Janney’s conversion brought the scores to within seven points with just eight minutes left on the clock.

The Penguins responded almost immediately and after a great break by lock Jack Wyatt, quick hands saw wing Tim Catling score in the corner with Peter Clarke adding the important extra two points.

The University refused to give up and with five minutes left replacement Mike Harris scored. However the Penguins, as is their tradition, refused to shut up shop and again attacked from inside their own 22. A break by Nutt eventually found Catling on the wing who passed beautifully to James Crozier to go over for the final score of the game.

At the end of the match former Oxford Blue Simon Griffin, who captained the University against the Penguins in the first ever game, presented Penguins captain Will Johnson with the brand new Alan Wright Cup.


Tries: Clarke, Smith, Poff, Nutt, Catling, Crozier
Cons: Cousins (2), Clarke


Tries: Janney, Anderson, Mather, Harris
Cons: Janney (2)


1 S Beckett (Henley) 2 B Gotting (Rosslyn Park) 3 W Johnson *# (London Irish) 4 A Brenton (Bedford Blues) 5 S McDonald (Rosslyn Park) 6 J Glasson (Canterbury B) 7 J Poff (Sidcup) 8 A Waddingham (Chinnor) 9 J Wilson (Richmond) Captain 10 L Cousin (Richmond) 11 T Catling * (Richmond) 12 P Smith (Eastern Suburbs) 13 M Nutt (Oxford Harlequins) 14 J Rudd (Rosslyn Park) 15 P Clarke (Richmond) Replacements: 16 D Simmons (Richmond) 17 J Gregg (Richmond) 18 M Dawson (Chipping Norton) 19 J Wyatt (Bath University) 20 A Mumford (Rosslyn Park) 21 C Lewis * (Rosslyn Park) 22 J Crozier * (Colchester)


1 L Anderson * (University) 2 J Wisson (St Anne's) 3 J Direen (Kellogg) 4 W Rowlands (Pembroke) 5 W Fell (Somerville) 6 D Asbun * (Kellogg) 7 J Morlet (St Peter's ) 8 L Mather * (University) 9 R O'Donovan * (Exeter) 10 H Guinness * (St Anthony's) 11 H Cho (Brasenose) 12 G Turner * (Kellogg) 13 O Vallance (St Edmund Hall) 14 S Wareham (Christ Church) 15 M Janney * (Oriel) Replacements: 16 H Macdonald * (Wadham) 17 A Grounds (Kellogg) 18 H Hughes (Magdalen) 19 AJ Connor * (Keble) 20 M Harris (New) 21 S Fernquest (Oriel) 22 JJ Dargan (St Edmund Hall)

* Denotes Blue, # denotes International

Richard Bennett, Bill Calcraft , Robin Hutton, Vince Bramhall, Robin De Morgan, Richard Russell, Iain McMorrine

Penguins winger Tim Catling lines up the tackle.
The victorious Penguins team!
Arthur Brenton challenges the Oxford lineout.
Victorious Penguins captain Will Johnson receives the Alan Wright Cup from former Oxford Blue captain Simon Griffin.
Jack Speak
Community Group
Jack Speak
Community Group